As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Some people claim that nowadays technologies are particularly advanced, which allows humans to stop thinking for themselves and rely on machines in each sphere of people’s life. On the contrary, other people are quite sure that there is no way computer technologies supplant necessity of humans’ ability to think. Undoubtedly, this issue is controversial. However, a closer examination reveals that the first opinion given is way more convincing for several reasons.

One reason in support of my point of view is that we cannot spend a day without referring to technologies, and it is an undeniable fact that such advanced technologies free us from thinking even on secure computations such as an amount of money we have to pay for our purchases. For many people perhaps it is complicated to remember the last time they have computed something themselves because every time they had to do it, they could use a calculator, which made all the necessary computations itself.

One may argue that people need to check on calculations or conclusions computers make, which leads to the conclusion that humans cannot help but think for themselves, even it is only required for rechecking of computations. However, this claim seems to be not persuasive. If scientists had checked each outcome, technologies would not have made such a big step forward as it would have required an enormous amount of time. Therefore, that claim can be weakened easily.

Perhaps the best reason in support of my position is that now computers can do things which cannot be understood even by scientists. There is a convincing example that can illustrate this reason. A little time ago one of the scientists invented the quantum computer that was meant to make discoveries. However, nobody still can comprehend how exactly computer makes such findings. As a result, we can say that technologies are becoming so involved that it is impossible to maintain their development, and we can do nothing but rely on computer intellect.

In summary, while there are arguments to be made for both sides, it is clear that there are greater advantages to reasons in favor of the claim that technologies free people from thinking for themselves.