As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today technology is an indispensable and inseparable aspect of everyday life. Needless to say (there is no need to say that) various kind of technologies make life easier such as the use of Internet and computers. Whether technology undermines the human mental capabilities or not, is a question, the answer of which has been a controversial matter among philosophers. To a great extent, I believe that technology hardly causes problem-solving deterioration in human/mankind ) and its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

Every technology is designed and invented by human and till now, almost most of the technology is dependent on persons for being controlled or performing tasks. Therefore, the idea that technology makes people think less is not reasonable since the need to do the duty through any technology needs a person. and everybody who are dealing with new technology instead of old methods, should learn how to do their works by the new technology or devices. Considering an accountant as an example, nowadays he does his job by using computer and many applications such as spreadsheets of Ms-Office as a simplest one or maybe a complicated ERP module. So the aforementioned accountant is obliged to learn new kinds of stuff and try to use them efficiently instead of doing some paper-based calculation by using old-fashioned calculators. This process of learning new things means using his mental ability. In addition to this, many people are still looking and searching for new methods and changing new technology to better one in order to help them do their tasks easier or more rapidly, that's why technology is growing rapidly; In the above example, new financial applications with new facilities are releasing every year. All these conditions show that technology is not a means to do human’s tasks instead of them, rather is helping them to not waste their time by doing mundane tasks.

As mentioned above, technologies save human precious time leading to having enough time to learn more about other majors and improvise new technology. The interdisciplinary fields, getting more popular day by day, are good evidence of the fact that technology makes people think more and also try to be more innovative. For example, medical devices such as x-ray for tomography are used to map the human body’s density variation, in other words, to show body organs by sending many waves from different paths to a body and collect them after passing it. Then, other scientists and researcher in the field of geology used the basis of this technology to find out more about the properties of oceans and finally they made a new technology: ocean acoustic tomography. How could this be possible, if technology precludes human of thinking or weaken his abilities?

On the other hand, it is not possible to hide the fact that technology makes people lazy. For example, more people use their/his cell-phone calculator to do the basic math instead of the mind. Likewise, more students use their computer spell-checker for correcting the word pronunciation and less try to learn the correct pronunciation of a word. Although, these are the bad side of a technology, using technology make people have more time to do what they want or what they are good at. In the example above, maybe the student who uses spell-checker have a potential to be a great musician; by using the technology he could save his time to practice more music and be more successful in future.

To conclude, It is good to mention that every technology has his good and bad sides like everything else in the world. And it is up to human how to use it. But overall, not only the technology makes life easier but also help people think effectively and help them have better performance.