As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Despite the obvious benefits that technology has brought us, may people are concerned about its drawbacks. Among them, some people worried that as we rely more and more on technology to solve problems, our ability to think for ourselves will be certainly curtailed. This concern is reasonable in a way yet not necessary in most cases.

In a way. the use of technology does not involve the process of thinking. It therefore will not exert any impact on people’s thinking. Take our daily use of transportations such as cars, trains, and airplanes for instance. They are tools and take use to where we need do go. For example, I have a daily schedule. I need to think how should I arrange my meetings, classes, and exercises so that I can finish everything on time. Okay, say, I need to host the meeting at work, have my class in the evening and then go to the gym afterwards. To efficiently do so, I need my car to take me where I need to be. As we can see, the car is nothing but a tool. It neither helps me nor thwarts me with my think process of arranging my daily plan. So, some technology provide people tools to achieve certain goals; yet, it has nothing to do with the ability of thinking.

In addition, the more people use technology, the more we need to think because people tend to compete in using the most effective ways to achieve desired goals. Considering there are so many forms of technology are available, if one does not keep thinking and stay updated, they may be left behind by their colleges. For example, as a teach myself, I have never ceased to explore more and newer technology and utilize it in my teaching. For example, there are over one hundred apps for teaching English pronunciation. In order to help students choose the one fit for them individually, I need to analyze different features of different apps to target the needs of my students. This is only one small area of my teaching. Besides, all other teachers at my school are doing the same. Everyone is trying to integrate technology with teaching effectively, which pushes us to keep thinking.

On the other hand, as we relying on more on technology, we may tend to get lazy. Since we can get the answers online, why would we go through the trouble to think. For example, it I want to how to convert word document to PDF form. I can get the answer in two minutes simply by googling it. This is true. However, the problem with getting answers online is not all information is reliable. Take another question for example. Someone is wondering why there are rashes on his arm all of a sudden. There may be over 10 pages and over one hundred items to answer the question; nonetheless, these answers do not agree with each other. Now, to choose the correct treatment, he will need to ponder over it rather than randomly pick one solution. As we can see, people tend to be lazy and skip the thinking process for themselves; still, due to the abundance of the information and choices, they will have for think for themselves.

In conclusion, technology is surely a double-bladed sword. While bringing countless benefits, It has caused many environmental and safety related issues. Just because we need to keep thinking how to deal with these disadvantages, we need to keep thinking while we are using more and more technology. Plus, technology does not just serve us, we need to make them to do so and also in an effect way, which requires us to think.