People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Attitude is the way a person feels or thinks about a certain thing. Whether people’s attitude is determined by their immediate surroundings or society in general has long been a contentious issue. However, a good insight into how human psychology works would corroborate with the author’s claim that indeed immediate circumstances or surrounds have greater influence in shaping the attitude of a person.

The first reason to justify the claim has to do with simple fundamental of developmental psychology that ‘a child learns from its surroundings’. Consider a case of a child born in the suburbs of metropolitan in a tribal Bedouin family. As he grows up, he starts adapting the mannerism, behaviour and habits of his tribal family notwithstanding that the society outside is well urban or modern. Whether he starts adapting those urban etiquettes depends upon the extent of his exposure to the society outside. Certainly, a couple of trips to the metropolis would not make him urban. It would require a constant touch and time spending with the society that could eventually mould him into an urban guy. But then his immediate surroundings would no more be his tribal family and would rather be the modern society thus further supporting the author’s claim.

Another argument to uphold the author’s viewpoint is that opinion of the people in general is influenced by their immediate surroundings and circumstances. For example, there are myriad religious institutions in western countries that successfully inculcate orthodox values in their pupils despite the fact that the outside society is outright secular or liberal. They do so by isolating them from the larger society and giving them a direct environment where such conservative values are cherished and embraced. Similarly, while society perceives any crime as evil, it appears business as usual for gang members of a criminal group. Moreover, personal experiences have a direct bearing on the individual attitudes. For example, while a society would proudly promotes the institution of marriage as a successful way of settling down in life, a person with a recent experience of an acrimonious divorce might hold a contrasting opinion.

Some may argue that there are instances when individual attitudes are swayed by the general public mindset. For instance during elections, politicians generally create a populist narrative that eventually is consumed by the public and decides the election outcome. However, even then those politicians must penetrate into private and immediate space of individuals by constant campaigning through media, pamphlets and other means of advertisement. Without penetrating into public space, influencing opinions and hence attitudes is not possible. Nevertheless, there will always be exceptions of iconoclastic individuals who are neither easily influenced by their surroundings nor by the society and solely depend on their intellect and conscience to develop attitudes towards specific issues or things.

In conclusion, it’s the human psychology to learn from their immediate surroundings and to develop attitude about certain things based on their own direct experiences and circumstances. While society also determines public attitude, it must penetrate into the immediate surroundings of the people to have any influence.