People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Whether people’s behavior is determined by their internal or external forces has long been a contentious issue. The statement contends that external influence takes precedence over intrinsic determinants in determining one’s behavior. Certainly, the statement finds support in the fact that it’s human psychology to learn from their immediate surroundings and to develop attitude about certain things based on their own direct experiences and circumstances. However, this cannot be an excuse for someone’s misdemeanors as the role of free in one’s actions can never be underestimated.

Behavior can be defined as the way in which humans respond towards other in a given condition. From the childhood, humans have a tendency to simulate speech, movement, mannerism, etc. from others. This is the very mechanism by which they develop their language, ideas, social behavior, etc.; and hence they are called as great imitators. A person’s cultural, professional, economic and social surroundings in which he/she is brought up, or in fact live, shape his/her thinking and as a consequence his/her behavior which is inextricably linked to the former. For example, a child, who has seen domestic violence from his/her early days, will develop certain mindset related to it whether condemning or condoning. Similarly, a child who has grown up in a poor family without creature comforts such as good clothing, food, toys etc. is likely going to develop an urge to earn good money in order to provide those amenities to his generations.

Even, after we have matured, the environment and circumstances in which we live have a great influence on our behavior. It is for this solid reason that the adage ‘man is a social animal’ is etched out in our mind. For instance, in UK people use horn with utmost restraint unlike third world countries like Nepal. When a Nepalese citizen arrives in UK, he is naturally going to practice caution in blowing horns. Likewise, a rustic person in a professional environment would develop urbane ways of interaction over the time. On the other hand, when there is an outbreak of mob violence, even law abiding citizens have been found to commit ghastly crimes following something which is called ‘crowd mentality’ in social psychology.

However, other very important aspects of human psychology, whose influence on one’s behavior cannot be overlooked, are inner conscience and free will. As humans mature, the intellect grows and so does the capacity to make own decisions. Unlike an infant who is basically amoral, a grown up individual has a conscience to distinguish between right and wrong despite the environment where he/she is brought up or lives. Therefore, people bear accountability for their misdeeds which cannot be justified their misdeeds by citing external stimulus. Now, considering the same previous example of crowd violence, people have also been found providing great humanitarian aid to the victims contrary to the mob behavior. Similarly, while American pop culture is overtly sexual, there are individuals who indulge in abstinence, as for them sex becomes meaningless with ephemeral hook-ups. Yet, the number of such aberrant behavior is too small to overrule the author’s generalization.

In conclusion, though people’s behavior is indeed influenced by forces not of their own making, ultimately it boils down to one’s own conscience and personal decisions for which he/she bears accountability. However, the examples of free-will overwhelming external influences are few and far between. Hence, the author is fair to assert that external factors have a major contribution towards somebody’s social or personal behavior