People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human beings' behaviors are interesting in that they can either be spontaneous or driven by external forces. Which one outweighs the other? Some claim that people's behavior is largely determined by external forces, not of their own making. While it may be true that external forces can greatly shape our behaviors, from my point of view, either external forces or internal motivation are of equal importance and always take effort on human beings' behavior at the same time. The reasons are stated as follows.

The human being is a social animal that always obeys a particular social rule to determine their actions. This is a social norm that defines the human being what can be or cannot be done. To understand this norm, we need to look back to ancient times when individuals are vulnerable to the external environment. Therefore, it is much safer for individuals when they act collectively to deal with rigorous external circumstances so that human beings can increase their chances of survival. The one who breaks the rules, a kind of social norm, maybe exiled then perhaps demise when faces external environment alone. In modern society, chasing wealth, beauty, even prestige is the appearance of action obeying the social norms. It means human being's behavior is largely determined, to some extent, by external forces when they implement a kind of action that mostly interacts with other people and society.

That being said, I must point out that human beings' actions are always driven by their own decision due to human beings having a sense of independence and autonomy when they mature. People always choose to do according to their preferences and interests under the circumstances of least interaction with others. An appropriate example not very far to seek. For example, people can choose to spend their spare time rambling in the national park or enjoy an engaging film in the cinema or have leisure time to read at home. These types of decisions are not decided by external forces but rather driven by people's own making.

From the discussion above, it is clear that both external forces and internal forces are capable of determining human behavior, and most of the time we cannot disregard either's influence. But neither can we compare their importance. In my opinion, external forces and internal motivation are not isolated when impacting people's behavior. Since current society is not a simple environment, people always make decisions with careful consideration of following the social norms and individual volition. In this complex process, both external forces and internal motivation are dependent and interacted.

In conclusion, I disagree with the claim that people's behavior is largely determined by forces, not for their own making. Both external forces and internal forces play a vital role in making decisions. And most of the time, they are working together to forge peoples' behavior. Given the different mechanisms in which external and internal forces shape how we behave, the conclusion drawn from a hasty comparison would certainly be oversimplified.