People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

Rules are required for the smooth functioning of the society and it is on the elected representatives to see that rulea are made appropriately .But there are many instances where the society criticised the rules which paved the way to better and efficient rules.People shouldnt blindly accept the rules imposed by the authority.

Authorities make the rule based on their understanding of any issues at hand or percieved ones.But all places may not have the same issues or tackling the issues at different places of a country or even a state often times require varied strategies.In india central government made a rule that trasportation at night through the protected sancturies are prohibited.This was fine with many of the northern states as they had viable alternative routes which could be used at night.Southern states on the other hand faced a numerous troubles due to this as there were practically no alternative routes for transportation.Long queues of vehicles waiting for the night to pass became a common scenario at the forest check posts. The resulting traffic standstill made it difficult for emergency services to operate at night in those regions.Protest ensued and the law was modified for the southern states.Also it can be that a rule imposed at a point of time lost its significance or even worse has become counterproductive.One such rule is the mandatory exhaust gas testing for all vehichles which includes the newly purchased ones.This made sense a couple of years ago where the manufacture testing didnt include the smoke tests.Present situation where it requires rigorous manufacture including the smoke tests, necessitating them in the first year proves an unwarrented expense and trouble for the public.

In some cases, the rules can have unforseen consequences, which escaped the delibration of the law makers.It could well require that additional rules are required to make the one in question viable.The child labour prevention act was first instituted in India without envisaging any support to those families which solely depended on the earnings made by children.A number of cases were reported where such families which had parents unable to earn found themselves in total dismay.A parallel law which made the essentially required support system possible was the result of the public voice.

It may be argued that the rules are well thought out by their designers often taking years, and if people start questioning each rule it would lead to chaos.But any rule can escape one or to considerations especially when it is implemented over a wast area.The ability to question rules imposed on the society is a fundamental value underlying the notion of democracy.

People should have the freedom to question the rules which raises valid considerations.Granted this exista the execution of the rules will be lot smoother as the rules will appear self adopted rather than imposed.