people who are the most deeply committed to an idea or a policy are also the most critical of it. do you agree or disagree?

The author of the issue highlights that people who believe their ideas thoroughly and deeply are the most critical of them. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. However, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that human beings take their interests and believes into consideration when it comes to ideas and opinions because they might hardly be the commitment to their ideas. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

To commence with, there is no doubt that people have always persisted on their own personal ideas and advocated them vigorously. Broadly speaking, although individuals might be committed to any given fact, they are more likely to take some benefits into account when persisting on an issue. As a palpable example, religious people are inclined toward the opinion that God created everything and their lives belong to God. Indeed, this idea is their own belief and they never want to be critical of it owing to the fact that it has been accepted as a belief for a long time. To elucidate more on this issue, when people grow with their belief, hardly can anyone change their ideas due to the fact that they intrinsically persist on their own personal opinions.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance is that despite the fact that people know they should be critical of their own belief, they incredibly prefer to think of their own profits and interests. If we take a minute to ponder over it, interests and incomes inhibit people from being committed and critical of their own ideas. For instance, a company that produces some tablets for different diseases is cognizant of tablets' prone and cons. But the company prefer not to say anything about tablets because clarifying the vagueness might create some problem for the company. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that in today's hectic city of life, hardly people pay attention to their commitments because they prefer to stay focus on their interests.

However, what was alluded to above can't be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside the innumerable benefits it has, indisputably, if people want to be critical of their own belief, they should be knowledgeable and self-sufficient. For example, doctors are knowledgeable and experienced people who are aware of different consequences which drugs have. So, they are able to give the best idea because they know whether they have to be critical of their own ideas or not.