People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is reasonable that people who are dedicated to or preoccupied with specific ideologies and policies are aware of their diverse characteristics. However, the level of commitment is not always matched with the level of criticism. While some people are quite critical of the very idea they support, some others do not question the purity of such an idea. Whereas there are some individuals belonging to the former category, the majority of people are the same as the latter in my view.

Clearly, I do not deny that there are experts or ideologues who can criticize the parts of the ideas or political orientations they follow. In the field of academic research studies, it is not rare to find many pundits who admit that their research methods have limitations although they regard such methods as the best approach they can take. Many of them also agree that interdisciplinary researches are necessary to find the most proper analysis of historical incidents or scientific phenomena. For instance, as for the backgrounds of civil wars, such as those in Lebanon or Georgia, many scholars have agreed that historical, political, and economic approaches have to be considered altogether.

However, outside the academic field, such compromises are not common in most cases. For instance, we have seen a myriad of fanatic followers of political and social ideologies including Nazism, imperialism, and religious radicalism. All of them have not shown any doubt or critical review of what they believe. The militant groups based on fanatical interpretation of religions are an explicit example. ISIS members, for example, have refused to see faults or ironies of their extreme beliefs. They have not found it implausible when they justify the murder of other Muslims by claiming that even their religious fellows can be punished if those fellows do not agree with their own set of perverted religious teachings.

Furthermore, such blind supports are not limited to extremists. In contrast, it is not hard to find such phenomena in the political scenes of many countries. In many cases, the divide between two contrasting political views is quite profound. In this circumstance, the followers of the one side are not skeptical of their rightness. Even the most intelligent and logical thinkers are usually inclined to state that their ideas or policies are impeccable. Such stances are easily found among politicians supportive of specific political or economic orientations. For example, neo-liberalists do not often agree that their economic models can lead to a set of side effects, such as polarization, while communists also do not usually accept that their economic approaches can hamper development.

Given the aforementioned situations, I cannot say that the most profoundly committed people are always the most critical thinkers. / While I admit that some of them really act as critical reviewers, the majority of them are mere followers regardless of their standards.