People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The debate between the merits of emotional vs logical decisions is, and will remain a perennial issue as long as humans are around to make them. Whilst in many cases pure logical thinking results in a better outcome, we cannot ignore the fact that humans are emotional beings and that, at some point, fulfilling our emotional needs is the logical and right choice.

It is hard to deny that there are many situations in which the cold, hard application of logic is the best option for decision making. You wouldn't want the president of the United States declaring war with a country based on a personal spat with it's leader, nor would you want leading scientists and engineers to take decisions on which drugs to develop or how strong to make your car based on anything but undeniable evidence. In these roles, where decisions have clearly quantifiable and grave consequences, emotional decision making is not the way forward.

However, not all decisions have such well defined outcomes. For instance how would you make a logical decision about your next holiday destination? Bar the obvious choice to go somewhere you can afford, is there any logical rational to spend a week skiing in the alps rather than snorkeling in the Caribbean? Clearly here most would agree that the decision should be made based on enjoyment, not logic.

There are also many decisions in which the difference between logic and emotion are not so clear cut. One such decision faced by millions of young people every year is the arduous choice of which college major to choose, the one they love or the one that guarantees a well paying job? If, as in this case, the measurable outcome of the decision is based on the decision maker's emotional response to the outcome, then surely it only makes sense to make an emotional decision. One student may believe they will be happier with the security of a well paid job whilst another may be willing to sacrifice this financial bedrock for the chance to make a living doing what they love. Even though this is an emotional decision, there is still a contrast between a long and short term emotional choice, the former of which is preferable.

Humans are emotional creatures and, to a certain extent, we define out success by our emotional state. Although pure logical thinking has it's place in making highly consequential or purely quantitative decisions, it is too far to suggest that emotional decision making has no place in our everyday lives.