People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the proposition since the rational train of thought requires one to make inferences and conclusions from what is logically true rather than getting tempted by their emotions to make decisions. The main issue over here is making decisions based on emotions since that dictates the choice and ultimately the fact that it was correct or not. The justification of that choice with logic is a mere consequence of the correctness of the choice.

Emotions and sentiments are perceptions of the external living beings and non-living things in ones mind and tend to change often depending upon the situations in which the individual in question confronts or observes them. Since these confrontations and observations might not capture all of the actions and reactions of the concerned externality, emotions are essentially tantamount to the partial knowledge about it. Hence, it would be unsurprising if sentimental decision makers fare poorly in their choices.

However, the spontaneity and urgentness of the situation may require the decision maker to act hastily and the situation may not also allow one to consider all the possibilities about the consequences of the decision. In such a case, the validity of the decision hinges upon whether the partial knowledge which the decision maker possessed is pertinent to the case in hand. A situation which has already been seen by the decision maker in the past would naturally cause them to act in a knowledgable way. In this way, the decisions based on emotions might turn out to be correct.

But for decisions which more time, the decision maker needs to be cautious and think thoroughly since the variables and stakeholders involved also have the scope of changing their response. It is questionable whether one should use the partial knowledge they have or rather decide as if they know nothing. It would be largely dependent on the nature of the decision maker, whichever of the above two choices they make and go ahead with their decision.