People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author's statement here is partially correct, because any decision that we take can be based on emotional attachment with the family and near ones or logically depends on the benefits that a person will get from any particular thing. Decision making plays an important role in everyone's life as each one of us has to consider many things, as in the consequences of the taking a particular side.

The statement is valid only in some of the cases but not all. There are some people who take decisions emotionally just maintain or preserve the memories attached with it. Like, in selling an old property which is of no use in the present day. A person and its family will definitely not want to sell the old property because it will take away all the cherished memories of the house from them. So they decide not to sell the property and keep it as it is and preserve the memories. Here the person thinks emotionally but takes a right decision as it keeps the whole family happy.

Similarly, if anyone wants to renovate his old house where they had many good memories, like functions, festivals etc. then he might definitely not want to renovate it, but the condition of the house is very bad and needs attention. So in the case if the person goes with the emotional attachment then he will end up with a bad decision. This supports the author's statement and will make the person poor decision maker.

The author statement is true only in some cases but not all, so the statement can be rewritten as "People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are sometimes poor decision makers."

In conclusion, the author says that the people who take decision emotionally are always poor decision makers which is actually wrong.