People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Every day, we face an uncountable number of decision-making issues, from something as futile as what to wear in the morning to life-changing situations such as a new job offer. Some of these decisions are taken in an unconscious manner, while others require a full analysis of their flaws and perks in order to be assessed. Regarding the latter, it is common sense to define those that base their decisions only on emotions and only after explain their choices with logical arguments, as poor decision makers. While emotions are a sometimes uncontrollable part of our existence, they should only marginally interfere with decisions that we know are going to shape our future.

To strengthen this point, think about a man who is faced with two important job offers; one would allow him to remain near its family, but it would entail an impressively low income. The other, instead, would force him to move to a farther location, though it would make him gain much more money. What is the right choice to make? Truth is, there is no such thing as right choice, but if the man were to choose the former option only to stay close to his family, he may not be able to completely support his loved ones because of his low income. On the other hand, while the latter option foresees a period far away from its family, he could surely support them better. Therefore, if this kind of situation were only analyzed with emotions, it could lead to a poor quality of life.

On the contrary, one could argue that simple decisions, such as what to eat for lunch, could be more influenced by emotions as they don't have a strong impact on our lives. For example, when we decide to eat pizza instead of a healthy plate of vegetables and justify it by saying "every once in a while, it is allowed!", we are on most cases lying to ourselves. In fact, it is undeniably true that these kind of decisions can be somewhat exonerated from being logic, but many people base on this assumption a large part of their diets, completely forgetting about logic or basing their counterarguments on an unsound reasoning like that mentioned above.

To sum up, our decisions can shape the way we live. While emotions can sometimes be overwhelming, it is important to consider them only as a side step in our decision-making processes; especially when something relevant about our life is at stake, emotions could interfere with our reason and lead to poor consequences. Emotions and logic are, in most cases, two counteracting entities that should be kept separate; what has been determined using the former can indeed not be explained by the latter, even in the simplest and most futile situations.