People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This statement will hold true in most situations. Emotional decisions are made in the moment and usually come from a "gut feeling" or from the heart. What the heart wants is usually not what logic, or the brain, agrees with when reason comes into play. While gut feelings can help in situations like deciding whether a person feels comfortable or safe with another person, other decisions that have lasting effects can be detrimental if emotion is used prior to logic.

For example, many people have designated an individual to be in charge of their life if they are not in a state to make their own medical decisions. Those designated individuals will need to be able to process information logically and make timely decisions. While a loved one will always elicit some emotion, the brain must be able to overcome those emotions. If a person is in a coma and the doctor is asking the designated individual if they should pull the plug (the doctor has assessed there's no chance of survival) or keep the person in a coma, they should be able to assess the situation, weigh the pros and cons, and make a decision without days worth of delay. A person who makes decisions based on emotions would probably be undecided or try to keep the person in the coma, ignoring the exponentially increasing costs. Trying to justify that decision and the bills with logic wouldn't necessarily agree with the justification initially given by emotion because now they could be in debt and their loved one still has no chance of survival. In contrast, if the person initially made the decision with logic, there's a more likely chance all angles of the situation would have been considered - they loved one's life, chance of survival, and the expenses. The justification given later would corroborate their initial decision.

Another example is when a person wants to leave their current job, they should always have another job lined up before they give in their two weeks. A person who makes decisions based on emotion may give in their 2 weeks in the spur of the moment if they're feeling unfairly treated, overwhelmed, or angry. Now, they are unemployed and don't have any paychecks coming in. Justifying this decision later with logic could prove to be impossible since those unpleasant emotions could have been dealt with in another way, especially if they are not in the best financial situation. Someone who is able to make the initial decision logically would have found a healthier outlet to express those emotions and worked in the same company till they had another job lined up. Logically thinking about the situation without making an emotional decision resulted in the latter person making a great decision of not quitting immediately.

While some moments require an emotional or "gut feeling" decision to be made, most decisions encountered throughout a person's life will require the situation and the consequences of said decision to be assessed to make it a good decision. People who use logic initially rather than later to try to justify the decision are better decision makers in the long term.