People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Regardless of the location, the unspoken rules of society deeply shape how people act and react to any kind of situation. Indeed, society can be somewhat defined as the silent judge of our actions; therefore, it straightforwardly follows that one’s attitude to common situations is really determined by the whole social rules, rather than his or her surroundings. While examples of the validity of this statement abound in everyday life, it can be shown that this claim stops to hold in some extreme cases, some of which are listed below.

Firstly, consider the following fact, true for almost every human agglomerate in the world: the rules of society impose that it is wrong to kill people. It is pretty easy to maintain an attitude congruent to the one stated above in everyday life. But what if someone kills your 8-years son in front of your eyes? It can be possible, in this case, that your attitude against killing someone rapidly changes because it is no more influenced by society, but by this critical situation.

Another extreme example that undermines the statement above regards the concept of euthanasia. Of course, every country has its own laws regarding euthanasia, but at least in my catholic state, people are strongly against this concept. If the above statement were absolutely true, this would mean that no matter the situation, one living in my country would always be against euthanasia. Nonetheless, it again depends on the particular situation. For example, if one’s mother is in coma since two years and the doctors state that there is no hope that she is going to wake up, one’s opinion about euthanasia could change because of personal feelings.

On the other hand, discarding all of the previous extreme examples, the concept of society that shapes the way one thinks is applicable to the most common situations in life. In fact, think about your roughest day when you had a thousand matters to deal with and still you had to wait patiently in line at the supermarket. If society’s rules didn’t matter at all in one’s attitudes, then you would surpass everyone without thinking twice about that. But that is not the case since it is in these common situations that society really acts to influence people’s attitudes and thus contribute to an organized world (and line in the supermarket).

In conclusion, society surely shape the attitudes of people and it should always be like that; on the contrary, we would live in a disorganized world where the people’s rights would not be the same for everyone but the most powerful would decide what is best for them. Nonetheless, it is also true that society does not completely influence our behaviours, that also depend on the particular situation, as I demonstrated through two examples.