People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What does affect people’s attitudes more? Is it their immediate situation or surroundings, or the society, in which they are living? On the surface, it seems like people interact more actively with the surroundings and be affected more by immediate situations. However, I believe that the whole social structure affect people’s attitudes more for the following reasons.

Of course, some may argue that the environment they are living in affects people significantly. It is not difficult to see people choose their side for topical issues and form their attitudes. Or, they change their minds by the people they often communicate with. As human beings perceive audio and visual signals through their sensory organs, those direct stimuli surely have strong impact on their decision-makings as well as forming attitudes on a certain issue. For example, people tend to have more clear view and opinion of the issues that are happening surrounding them and affecting them. It would not be strange if a girl in a small town where the majority of the citizens are white does not have any clear opinion about racial discrimination, to which the girl has never been exposed.

Nevertheless, I still believe that it is a whole social structure that provides a set of options individuals can choose. Although individuals think they make their own decisions based on the immediate situation they face and with their surroundings they care the most, the pool of choice, which is given to them is fundamentally provided from the big society they are living in. For example, one may form his or her attitude towards refugees. He or she may think the idea of refugees is made solely based on his or her rational idea. However, it is difficult to deny that the situation the whole society is facing with refugee issue cannot be ignored when considering the person’s opinion towards refugees. Depending on how the nation’s policy on refugee has been changed, how the nation’s leader has been projecting the refugees, and also how the media of the society has been reporting the issue, the individual must have been affected. Therefore, we cannot simply ignore the impact of the social structure.

Moreover, the impact of the whole society on an individual’s attitudes has been increasing as the importance of the media grows. In the current society, where a myriad of news and articles flows around the Internet, it is very difficult to say that one’s opinion is independent from the social trend. In addition, when we consider the government’s use of media to instill a certain attitude towards the issue that is critical to the country, it becomes more obvious that individuals’ attitudes are formed according to the social factors.

In conclusion, on the surface, people seem to form their attitudes based on the immediate situations through direct interaction with the surroundings. However, it is the society as a whole that has bigger impact on individuals, since it provides the foundation of the way people perceive the world.