People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making

Yes, different forces determine different personalities. Human behavior is highly dependent on circumstances.We can find a person arrogant after a valuable achievements, while you can find the same person struggling hard for confidence, especially at times of adversities. Film celebrities, sports personalities, politicians, in fact everybody is well dominated by different forces surrounding them.

Zidan, a famous French footballer, was known to be poise personality until the start 2005 soccer world cup. In 2005 finals he was abused by an opponent team player; this was proved sufficient to enrage him. Eventually, he headed his opponent on chest, which resulted Zidan's disqualification for that match (this was considered as an important reason for French defeat in 2005 finals). Was this behavior expected from such an aplomb player? Actually, conditions made him to do so and no can deny this bitter truth.

Moreover, factors like greed and envy can severely determine one's character. For an honest officer, seeing her colleagues' corruption, can influence her to become venal. In contrast, an honest environment of her office can be effective to preserve her morals. Perhaps, It is likely, that a good ambiance leads to a good mental virtue, which leads to healthy mores.

One can give examples of impervious and phlegmatic US Marines, to undermine the given notion; showing that it is possible for humans to become impervious to emotional forces . Nevertheless, there is a recent increase in suicide cases by marines due to their pathos, like separation from their families, economic crises , and hostile treatments by their own colleagues. This shows that even brave marines are also susceptible to emotional throes.

Conclusively, we can say, that human behavior is highly contingent on circumstantial forces. Different events shape our character; our personality is culmination of these events in our life. It is truly said that "a man follows different vagaries in his life which makes him whimsical."