Present your perspective on the issue below, "People work more productively in teams than individually. Teamwork requires cooperation, which motivates people much more than individual competition does."

From a very ancient time, people realised the importance of cooperation and started working in unity. This in turn fostered understanding and trust among the team members which is good for individual development. Even today, teamwork is highly regarded as a virtue. People are often asked in interviews if they are good team players, can they work with other people etc. Though, one cannot undermine the results that engendered out of individual work and persistence like the telephone, microscope, modern theory of relativity. This kind of a dilemma begs the question what kind of an environment is more conducive for optimum productivity. Though there is no certain answer but it has been observed that, depending on what the situation is; sometimes teamwork is needed and sometimes individuality.

Modern work is full of marvels that are a result of teamwork. From the early aeroplane by the Wright brothers to the search engine Google by Sergei Brin and Larry Page. This goes to show that how working in team is efficient and smart. People individually have their own strengths and weaknesses but when amalgamated to form and work as a cohesive unit, they can complement each other. Weaknesses can be conquered, more accuracy can be achieved and quality can be enhanced - these are some of the benefits of working as a group. In case of decision making scenarios, where one individual can get stuck at a juncture, members of a team can work together to find out a suitable and efficient outcome. Working in a team also builds character as it helps in building trust, taking on responsibilities, adjusting to external circumstances and thinking about the team before oneself. Recent times has shown that a team of "good" can even take down the best when in the Copa America finals Chile defeated Argentina. The Chile team of not so renowned players stopped the best player in the World, Messi from scoring and won the cup. Thus, teamwork is definitely productive both professionally and personally.

Still, it will be unjust if we don't throw the light on some the most amazing individual feats to understand that through sincerity, and dedication and perseverance; a man can overcome hurdles and achieve victory. Facebook, the ubiquitous social networking site is probably the best example of a 'one-man work'. Many might say that other people were involved too but in the very early stages, only Mark Zuckerberg was the one who built it. Sometimes, if a person may get restrained in a group because of having more than average intellect and may feel hindered by other teammates. History is witness to many legends who, alone went on to change the world, although they faced criticism and ridicule at their time. Einstein, Newton to name a few. This proves that individual genius is as well productive as working in unison yet no conclusion can be drawn as to which one is superior.

In conclusion, both teamwork and individual work is productive depending on the scenario and environment. Given a situation, one needs to know which method to employ and how to achieve the best out of it.