The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

The statement claims that the ultimate goal of the technological advancement should be to increase the people’s efficiency in order for the people to have more leisure time. In what follows, we will see that the nature of technology is against having a leisure time, and as a purpose of technology, there are more important assets than providing free time.

Undoubtedly, technological advancement makes it easier and more efficient to do the works. However, such an ease, ironically, increases the need of working time. This happens based on the fact that between a workload and a stint of a work, and the payment there is a firm correlation. When it gets easier to fulfill a job, the time to finish the job would be lesser and also its payment, here the one is behooved to work harder to compensate the decrease. In most families there are now more than one breadwinner and working ours is increased.

Concomitantly, technology gives rise to a severe job competition, which is against having a spare time. When the technology makes a work done by one individual _which retrospectively needed a teamwork_ obviously certain jobs would be eliminated. This makes the competition tougher among individuals to get a job, and does not allow more a spare time for them. Hence, as mentioned, by the technology, an individual should work harder to compensate the lower incomes and not to lose his or her work to competitors.

Now, the leisure time is important to achieve. Indeed, it is in such a time that people can have family time, relieve their stress and have fun. Otherwise the whole society falls into stressful conditions and the ramifications of less leisure time would plague the whole society.

However, the other more important goals should also be considered rather than seeking only the leisure time. I believe the goal of the technology should be to help humans to compensate for their natural weaknesses. It is with the technological advancement that a crippled man who can only move his eyes voluntarily, changed the way we are looking at the universe; Stephen Hawking Is a physician who suffers from a genetic disease but technology enabled him to create a great contribution, the string theory. Technological advancement made him able to talk, or change the pages of the books he wants to read and so many other things that made him strong enough to stand against his illness. Therefore, we see that there are far more precious contributions that can be aimed by the technology rather than providing a leisure time.

In short, as it is discussed in the body paragraphs, technological advancement alone cannot make the working hours lesser than to offer more leisure time, and even if it can, there are other precious goals that should be equally considered.