Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both high comfort level and a fear of unknown.

Agree. Stick to old methods will not lead to improvements and will eventually deteriorate. For example, an advanced and powerful country may feel more comfortable clinging to their obsolete ways since the country is already financially stable. But, other countries are improving, and the advanced technology leads to changes in the economy dynamically. Therefore, sticking the old ways is not beneficial.

Progression for improvements can be seen among researchers. In order to excel and breakthrough, researchers try many times and learn from failures. If they cling on to obsolete ways and they fear of what is going to happen, there will not be any new inventions or theories.

If a country is currently having financial crisis. The ruler should think of other ways to solve the problem and not clinging on to the initial way of handling financial issues. Besides, if Tsunami or Earthquake strikes a country more terrible than before, the people in that country should think of ways to overcome the problem not clinging on to obsolete ways.