PROMPT: All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Who is a consultant? Webster dicitionay defines consultant as someone who has a expertise in a certain field and can help streamline processes necessary for success. In a globalized competitive environment of today, to be successful in any industry the role of a consultant is ever increasing. And although, employee of a firm can provide a necessary insight, more often than not a second pair of eyes, particularly a third party is deemed essential for ensuring efficiency and optimal growth.

A big consultant firm for instance, is DuPont In. which is involved in many industries across various sectors. The dutch firm was responsible for coming up with the six sigma plan on efficiency. Firms like these can provide tremendous knowledge to a company whose costs have sky rocketed in operations. Such consultant firms bring about multitudes of experience, which they have gathered over the years while working with various firms in a particular sector. This weath of experience along with the knowledge and suggestions of the employees of the company can help out a firm in cutting costs, increasing production, and thus increasing overall profit.

Another great example when companies hire consultant is when a brand wants makeover. In such cases, employees despite their best interest aren't of much help. Consultants can pitch in such cases providing 'out of the box' strategies to re-inovate the brand. The official carrier of India, Indian Airlines was in dire starits till recently. The company was burning through millions of dollors of the tax payers money. Until recently, when they hired Aviation Industry experts to streamline the business. The result was evident within two years when the airline was voted the best airline in Asia pacific region.

And, although hiring of consultants brings about a danger, especially in regards to dessimation of corporate secrets. The benifits most certainly outwiegh the costs.

Finally, it is impossible to have all the relevant expertise for operating a business efficiently in-house. And while, the suggestions of the employees is germane and most definitely necessary, it isn't sufficient to operate a business and sutain it with high growth. Thus, hiring of consultants and taking their views judiciously is necessary.