The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Music is an 'art' it can not be judged on an absolute scale as good or bad. However, their are some musicians which have talents that nobody can ignore or criticize. Such musicians in todays world because of the exposure available are also most loved among the masses as well.Hence, it's not an exaggeration to say that the fame enjoyed by any musician is equivalent to the talent and emotions stirred by his/her songs in the masses.

A. R. Rehmaan is considered a prodigy in the music world. He won Oscar for his song 'Jai Ho' featured in slumdog milliner. Oscar being one of the most prominent awards given in music and entertainment industry can definitely be used as a corroborator for his talent. Some of his other songs include amazing compositions such as 'Ma tujhe Salam' which is not only considered a musical masterpiece but loved by masses as well. Talent of a person is not something which can be measured on an absolute scale. Different people have different perceptive towards music and what they prefer in it.

Fame or popularity of a musician is directly proportional to the quality of their work. Fame is not generated overnight. Popularity which is not fleeting but is sustained for a long time is gained only by the talent and hardwork put in by the musician in his work. Most of the famous musician today including Ed Sheeran how is known for his unique talent and is among the most prominent musicians in the industry today works for upto a year on a single album and produce premium quality music. Ed Sheeran used to sing on the streets of England before he became famous he had the talent then, but nobody recognized it until he came into the limelight.

However, critics might argue that many great musicians like Mozart got the reverence they deserved many years after their death. The counter argument to this is the fact that at the time of Mozart musicians did not get the exposure and fame they deserve in their lifetime. When Mozart's creations were discovered after his death, these compositions were venerated and got the exposure they deserved.This does not mean that being famous hiders the judgement of talent of a musician in any way. Moreover, it helps an artist to put his music out in the world and enjoy the response it creates in the world.

Hence, it can be concluded that fame received by a musician is a proof of talent for an artist. The exposure is not a hindrance in judging the talent, but it's an aid.