The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that the assessment of talent of musicians is always affected by the fame he has earned. I consider this a paradoxical statement. This can be explained with the help of talent shows and also the widely accepted generation gap issue.

A musician be it a singer or an instrumentalist can only rise in his profession and attempt to be famous if his or her music is good. Which itself proves the person's talent. Take for example talent shows like 'America's Got Talent' or 'American Idol'. These types of shows attempt to unearth talent and provide opportunities to discover the potential of many aspiring individuals. Many popular singers these days are brought to light by these shows. For example, Shreya Ghoshal is a popular Indian singer brought to fame by the show by 'Sa Re Ga Ma Pa' and so is Tochi Raina by 'Indian Idol' which are popular Indian musical shows.

Another reason I disagree with the author is because evaluating a singer much after his demise poses a problem harbored by age differences. Namely, the generation gap. You may ask why this may matter. Musicians of different generations cater to different audiences. And different audiences have different tastes. Especially more so when there is a gap of several generations as the author suggests.

Lastly the point to keep in mind while assessing the real talent of a musician is to have unbiased judges who are open to all forms of music. That I believe is a far more pressing factor to consider as compared to what the author suggests. I end with the thought that musicians should have a chance to be lauded while they are alive. It is only fair for them to be admired in their time.