To remain vigorous,any academic field needs to be led by truly independent thinkers who are willing to ignore established boundaries and challenge long-standing assumptions.

The statement "To remain vigorous,any academic field needs to be led by truly independent thinkers who are willing to ignore established boundaries and challenge long-standing assumptions" certainly complicated and controversial statement. I partially agree and partially disagree with this statement. I provide enough evidences to advocate my view on this statement.

"Innovation" is one word that can resurgent a field from void to ubiquitous within a certain period. Thinkers who practice such tendency are considered to be as "INNOVATIVE THINKERS". Their contribution brings us a new way of performing a task and also with great efficacy. Historical data provides a large number of examples to emphasize this conclusion. One such case is "Statement of Copernicus",where Copernicus most elite person in the society at that time stated for the first time that Earth is round. He broke the stout walls of conventionality in the field of science which believed that earth is not round but flat. Though he was opposed initially,later people convinced with his statement and still in existence.

Another such case of "Innovation" is discovery of "GRAVITATIONAL FORCE". It was the Apple which fallen from a tree under which Newton was resting made him to illuminate a new concept called "gravitation". It was not the first time an apple has fallen from a tree. And also it was not the first time a person observed an apple falling. But the only variance lies in the innovative way of thinking or novelty in thinking.

It is not all the time being novel brings us victory. Sometimes being conventional also brings us good results. Cases which include mass decision making or mass working mainly demands a conventional way of making things. Allowing novelty in such case leads to incongruity .So to avoid all such confusion conventional approach is implemented in such cases. for example in governments where democracy is prevailing voting is a conventional practice supported and practiced by many people. And also having houses to discuss the welfare of people comes under such case.

As I have provided irrefutable evidences on the statement given, I conclude the statement as partially acceptable one.