Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

University mandating students with courses outside the scope of their major, helps in their all round development. The need to have a horizontal knowledge on vide variety of subjects is quite essential in today's job market. However, students interest must not be overlooked. They must be able to select subjects on the basis of their interest not by compulsion.

Every subject that we study in some major is interconnected with atleast one subject/s of some other major. Understanding this connection and all the connected subjects will help us learn better. A student which majors in mechanical engineering would get benefited by learning computer languages. Computer language will set a foundation for object oriented programming(OOP) and would eventually help him with his assignments on Katiya. Katiya which is a popular tool for mechnical engineers is completely based on the concepts of OOP.

Student gets idea about different field thus increasing his creativity level and creating a wider outlook, rather than being parochial. Different subjects enables our mind to think from a totally diffrent prespective which we never really preceived earlier. A student of fine arts would benefit from courses in drama and literature.

However, student must only be assisted in selecting courses they must not be compelled to select courses according to universities wish. Having mandatory courses that's against students interest is just waste of time and money for students. eg. In my university I was asked to learn french where at the same time I could have deveoted same time to learn python. The result was as expected, I could'nt do well in French and I could barely learn python. Although french might be usefull but my interest was inclined towards learning Python. Had I been given the opportunity to select courses i would saved my time and money.

To sum it up, it is a wise decisions to make student take courses from diffrent majors. Students would benefit in such an endevour provided they choosed subjects based on their interest and guidance by the university teachers. However, students must not be made compulsory to choose a paticular subjects.