Rituals and ceremonies help to define a culture. Without them, societies or groups of people have a diminished sense of who they are.

A particular group of people live in the certain area and share some common values , customs , norms and celebrate a similar types of the festivals and the ceremonies. These types of commonness represent a particular type of the culture. In my perspective without them trhe people of that society will not have unique identity among the people of other places.

At first, when we look back towards the history of America, there was native American who had tightly clinged together with their rituals and ceremonies instead of being frightened by the European who had been ruled over them for certain period . Because of this reason we were able to know about the native American tribe and they are able to maintain their own identity in the whole world till now. If they do not have their own set of culture which are defined by their common rituals and ceremonies, then they may lost their identity and recognized as a part of the European tribe.

Secondly, we were not unbeknownst of the fact that America is the city of dream of every citizen from every country. Out of them, few had got a chance to go there. However, any citizens from any country wants that their children should learn about their own culture so that their culture will always remain in the hand of their ancestor. It make possible to exist the culture of every society so that their ancestor will be recognized their self and know from where they came from. When I used to be in grade 5, I no that the brother near to my house had a chance to go to us and after 5 years they return back to Nepal with his son and wife so that his son can know about our own culture ans no about the identity of ourselves.

At last, if we do not have our identity then how could we recognize ourselves? What is our identity? From where we came? This is always a mystery for us as well as for the ancestor of ours. Culture are aslso helpful in showing the respect towars the ancestors like the dragon boat dance in cho\ina was celebrated to show the faith towards a great poet so that his identity will be preserved and the ancestor of him was also known by many people.

To recapitulate, rituals and the ceremonies define culture but only these two things are not the whole to define our culture. There are other things like festivals etc that also define our culture and these are the things that definitely define ourselves and able to maintain our identity among the divergent people ofmodern age..