Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some people are of the opinion that scandals can attract more people’s attention to problems than a speaker or reformer can. However, others such as me are opposed to this idea. Each of these groups put forward several reasons to advocate their idea, some of which are argued as follows.

In the world today, people are too busy to follow the news about everything in the society, ranging from social problems to financial problems or from political problems to environmental problems,it is what the first group claim. They believe that when scandals occur, almost all of the people in the society will become aware of those problems. Because, the scandals with their roots and defendants will become controversial topics in the media and they will be discussed for several months. As a result, people will become aware of problems existing in part of a society and government officials will strive to solve the problems as well as strengthen their policies to avoid reoccurring of such events. For example, people in my country were not aware of budget affairs. It was for a several months that people of various jobs had not got their salary and they were too engaged with their work to follow this issue until recently when a scandal revealed. There was a political group who stole a huge amount of money from the government and fled abroad. Although, reformer had warned about such a problem before this event, people did not give attention much until such a bad scandal appeared.

However, the second group shares a different idea and they believe that absorbing people’s attention is not a sound reason to consider scandals beneficial. This group claims that scandals are the final impact, and authorities in a community should strive to avoid reaching this red line. When we hear about a scandal, it means that the problem is at its critical point which indicates that people, and government officials are not meticulously responsible about their duties. In their opinion, if a community follows a correct policy with conscientious agents to apply them, and media as well as reformers act on time to warn people about the problems which threaten them, people will also give enough attention and it seems to a more effective and controllable strategy.

To put it in a nutshell, it should come as no surpriseif we assert that assigning efficient policies is much better than the scandals to reprove a community. Eventually, I completely disagree to consider scandals useful, however it should be noted that they are sometimes inevitable.