Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of the utility and importance of scandals as a tool for gathering the attention of the masses on various overlooked problems. Indisputably, a scandal has a very high probability of becoming the headline and hot topic of discussion. Nevertheless, the utility of scandals for raising awareness on important and grave topics present in the society is questionable due to the distracting sensationalism attributed with them. Thus, I disagree with the author and argue that due to the fickle nature of scandals, they are not useful to focus on problems that cannot are precarious to tackle.

First of all, scandals cannot consistently be attributed as useful. The bombastic nature of scandals tends to make any issue grander than it really is. Due to this, scandals generally have a disruptive effect on the media and general public opinion and can cause instability. For example, scandals related to Hollywood celebrities are inconsequential. When scandalous news about a particular famous individual is released, the recipients of this information get distracted or side-tracked from their original commitments. Consequently, scandals tend to be more of a distraction than a useful piece of information.

Furthermore, the authenticity of a scandal is always a matter of grave importance. However, the general public is quick to react to such scandals without verifying the actual truth. In such cases, the damage to the reputation of the person/company/idea is already irreversibly done. Also, there are many means of attaining focus on volatile issues. For example, social media is a powerful platform where every contributor acts as a leader, a speaker, and a reformer. In addition, scandals tend to be short lived and the general public loose interest from scandalous pieces of news as quickly as their attention is captured.

Admittedly, the sensationalistic quality of scandals does manage to capture the focus of a very large audience extremely effectively. This ensures maximum impact in a very small time frame. For genuine issues that cannot be tackled by general debate and discussions, scandals provide a powerful alternative. However, the argument above does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that scandals are useful. The reputation of scandals as ballyhoo prevents them to be taken in a serious fashion. Scandals have a very niche application for touchy subjects where individually speaking up may not be an option.

In conclusion, although scandals provide an excellent source for eye-catching headlines and help address issues with dangerous ramifications, they also tend to veer off in irrelevant directions. As long as the lurid news is verified at source for authenticity and speakers and reformers have the gall to speak about topics that people generally shy away from, a balance can be attained where scandals do not hold a pivotal role in capturing focus. In fact, with the emergence of social media and active participation of the general public, people have started voicing opinions fearlessly and hence helped in reducing the dependence on scandalous tactics applied by the media powerhouses.