Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It’s not uncommon nowadays to open TV or newspaper and find a new scandal making it to the headlines. Be it politics, sports or academia, every field has its fair share of scandals and with a few exceptions it can be seen that at large they indeed have helped focus our attention on issues and problems no speaker or reformer ever could.

On one hand scandals are often instrumental in undermining the public’s faith in an institution or organisation. It defames the concerned organisation or person and sometimes it’s a whole nation that is at the receiving end of a scandal. For example in the commonwealth games Delhi 2010, the corruption scandal concerning the organising committee not only damage the reputation of the India Olympic association but brought about a bad name to the entire nation.

Also sometimes scandal are deliberately concocted to divert public attentions and they play at the hands of media that cash on this opportunity to earn more viewership. Nowadays when a scandal breaks out, it receives immense media attention and the public also follow intones of the scandal diligently as the public’s eyes and ears are the media. The newsrooms are converted into virtual courtrooms where the newsreaders with their panel gives our verdict. They tend to carry on with the story at the cost of more important issues just to keep the audience glued. For example when the Monika Lewinsky and Bill Clinton sex scandal broke out, the media went into frenzy and followed up the story for one whole year at the cost of more important national as well international issues.

But scandals does help focus our attention on issues that we tend to neglect and it does force government, other concerned authorities to take appropriate action. For example when the 2G spectrum allocation scandal broke out in India, it enlightened the public of the discrepancies in the spectrum allocation and exposed the corruptions going on in the telecommunication sector. This was followed by an immediate resignation of the concerned minister and indictment of all the people involved. Many at times scandals have helped the government or the governing body of an organisation to identify loop holes in the existing laws, rules and regulations so as to make amendments and bring about a more solid and impregnable system. One such case in India was the Satyam corporate scandal where the company admitted of falsifying the accounts. After this scandal many stringent laws were passed and the power of chartered accountants clipped so that no company can feign its accounts in future. More recently, doping scandals in the sports arena led to stricter doping tests and career ending punishment for defaulters. The list of scandals with such big implications to the existing laws and to the society as a whole is very long.

Although it is true that sometimes scandals deviate the public’s attention from more important and vital societal issues and bogs down progress but the positive reforms that have come across due to various scandals breaking out cannot be denied. Many at times the voices of reformers are gagged but scandals are too loud to be silenced and so they are necessary to pinpoint issues and problems of the society.