Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

It is human nature anything that is dramatic catches attention. Scandals are also dramatic which can get focus rather than long speeches. Now days, almost everyday we are hearing many scandals in the news. Scandals catch listeners attention more than any other news or update. Mostly scandal news becomes part of gossip for people. More people talk about it and follow different scandals news and make them more famous. Thats how scandals catch more attention. There are many examples such as sony electronics company's database hacking scandal, Fake IRS call scandal, Presidential nominee Hilary Clinton's email scandal.

Few months back, Sony company's database and system was hacked by some group illegally. Company's whole database was wiped out. Sony went through big trouble, and government tried to help them out. This scandal was in news for many days. People who may not be interested in Sony's business, tried to know more about the story behind this. Sony might have advertised their products, or may have organized many events to reach to many people for business, but with this one scandal, many people in the world know Sony just because of hacking scandal.

Here is the another example, this year people were getting many IRS fake calls, because of this fake call scandal. People are more alert and try to know more about how IRS works and how they reach people, to understand the comparison between actual and fake calls, before many people might have never bothered about IRS after filing tax returns, but now after this fake calling scandal, people started spreading awareness by talking to each other and though social media.

Mostly scandals are used in election debates to oppugn candidates. It is a election time, presidential nominees use scandals extrapolate other nominee's character, to traduce them. Which makes their speeches more interesting and create more controversy. Current presidential nominee Hilary Clinton's email scandal, which republican nominee Donald trump like to talk about and to question her on this matter. Simple debates about development plans may not make election candidate's speeches interesting, but these scandals, most of the people like to follow, which works better than screed speeches.

As scandals so easily gets attention, people who doesn't want to follow any news or speech, but when it comes to scandals, they love to follow and want to know more about it and are presented in the news also in a dramatic way to hook listeners. Scandals may bring awareness to the society or it can be just a part of tea time talk, but attract attention much easily than any other speaker or reformer.