Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Mankind has always taken a liking to the extent to which an issue is dramatized. More the action, more the involvement, more the people, more the action and so it goes.

Scandals in the current society not only provide an interesting perspective towards a certain matter but also help corroborate a known issue with a sundry of opinions that see their share of exposure.

That said, I firmly believe that scandals can work as a catalyst for any person that isn't naturally inclined towards a subject or it's opinion.

For example, to a non-inclined iconoclast who doesn't support any kind of government or take interest in their matters, a scam of millions of tax-dollars would immediately peak his curiosity and implore him to know more of it. The mentioned scam allows him to form an opinion of the scam based on self-accumulated data and that makes him take notice of the ongoing bureacracy that he was, before, unaware of. Now, before this scandal was taken by its covers, imagine a reformer standing upto the possiblity of the certain scam. Not only would this result in an intrinsic careful safety-manuevar by the scammer but also provide the standing person a bad reputation for spreading the 'false' assumptions.

If we take a look into the older epochs, India gained it's independence not by opposing the British colony through heavy machinery and violent acts but rather by choosing non-violence as a measure. One can truly consider this an effective scandal as the protestors showed an exponential increase in numbers. The side-standing by-seers thought along the lines of- Not all could fight, but together they could stand and hope- and indubitably that worked for the best. If India had followed it's pursuit of belligerent efforts, that were understatingly futile, specifically under the cause of any leader, It would've taken a much longer period to attain freedom and there would've been so many more casualties. People standing up for a cause is a much appreciated form of unity than people acting upon instructions of an individual as it shows dependence on a dominant form of enquiry rather than self-realized unity in decision.

Generally even, human psychology has a proclivity towards entertainment outside its own self. Stimulation, be it intellectual or social, is always welcomed. As a scandal, it provides not only the social issues to be morally judged for but also an intellectual stand-point that the person himself could hold or form a new one- in both ways stimulating the person. Studies have shown that a person is more bound to hold an opinion or culminate to one if the opportunity provides itself as an unjust societal problem than a selfless giving. While that stays true at its place, if a certain individual was to be confronted by the views and opinions held by another individual who the former may or may not see as capable, the individual in question would feel threatened and un-inclined towards seeking salvation in someone else's cause unless the same ideology has been shared and allowed to develop.

Although at times, this may result in non-fortuitous, made-up, artificial scandals but that in itself presents itself as one hence resolving the issue at hand. Sometimes, scandals may hinder or foreshadow other important topics that requires a better audience- this is something one has to live with, its a flaw of human nature.

In conclusion, we can say that, yes- scandals are pivotal to tend to the minds of one when it comes to tracing attention towards an issue. While reformers & speakers can help spread awareness, they cannot necessarily provide the momentum the issue needs the way a scandal can.