Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

A scandal is defined as an action or event which is regarded as morally or legally wrong and causes public outrage. Scandals are the real events which demonstrate the flaws in the status quo of the economical, political (and or) technological systems involved, demanding an immediate action. Speakers and the reformers on the other hand, address issues in an abstract sense, often eyeing a long term goal and may or may not goad public into causing a furore. Scandals and public speaking and reformation talks are both persuasive in nature, however, scandals often result in a rapid transformation of society in its various spheres.

Scandals cause public outrage, immediately provoking the public, this in turn puts sudden pressure on the scandalous systems involved and forcing them to take an immediate action to mitigate public backlash. Current example of such a scandal is the possibility of meddling of Russians in the electoral process for the United States presidency. It has highlighted the conflict of interests of Mr. Donald Trump and his ties with the Russians. This scandal has led to many immediate resignations, has possibly forced the canning of the FBI director. This has led to public furore and has asked for an immediate enquiry into the matter. Efficacy of public speaking on the other hand in such a situation, with the lack of real evidences, is at best debatable.

Scandals owing to their reality, often changes the perception of general public about the systems involved, making public wary of every move of the system. Public speaking and promises of reformation alone cannot, on the other hand, bring about this sudden shift in the perception of masses. In nutshell, ‘a picture is worth thousand words’, here that ‘picture’ is the scandal and the ‘words’ are those uttered by the public speakers. An example in this direction is that of the president of South Africa, who is charged with more than 700 cases related with corruption and abuse of the public money, a scandal has revealed him using public funds for his own benefits, building lavish house with all modern amenities. This scandal has resulted in protests and tarnished the public image of the African national congress party. Public speaking and talks about reformations are more of an aftermath reactions in such cases.

Scandals leave the practical flaws in the system out in the open for people to demand immediate actions. 2G scams in India have under public pressure, forced the government to perform thorough auditing of the spectrum allocation process. Similarly, the 2010 Commonwealth games scandal in Delhi, India has demanded thorough investigations in the sports infrastructure fund allocation and auditing of its transparent usage. Had 2G spectrum and Commonwealth games fund allocation and usage scandals not exposed by the media, these events would have gone unnoticed, keeping the ‘apparent’ integrity of the systems impeccable. These scandals highlighted the channels in the government systems through which corruption can seep in.

However, one has to always guard himself against the authenticity of the news of about scandals. Media is a revolutionizing power when used without self-interests, otherwise, it can also be misused by a group of people to calumniate their opponents, or even for the sake of improving popularity of their media outlet for generating higher revenues. Such cases demand incisiveness of the general public. Public should therefore have their own independent judgment about the validity of a publicized issue and should not give in to the populism. Further, the public speaking and promises of reformations come with their own merits, providing people with various views on how the problems can be solved in the long term, even if they do not prompt public to take immediate actions. Reformers and public speakers emphasis an incremental approach to the problem solving as opposed to the scandals which prompts people to take immediate action.

I would like to conclude that the scandals possess a compulsive nature, prompting people to react immediately. Scandals by their very pragmatic nature, put flaws of the compromised system out in open for general public to see and react. They also have the efficacy to change the perception of people about a system in a short time-span, which public speaking and reformers dream about, but may or may not be able to achieve, subject to their persuasiveness. However, before taking any action, people should always invest themselves in establishing the authenticity of a scandal.