"Scientific theories, which most people consider as 'fact,' almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as 'factual' with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future."Write and essay in whi

Even though an information is considered as a “fact”, we must not follow blindly. Instead, we should think about the “fact” in more detail.

It is correct that one should be skeptical when viewing a scientific theory, because scientific theories arise from research conducted in a population group. There are surely some exceptions, and these exceptions are the ones that lead to improvements and provide insights for future scientific theories. For example, it is scientifically proven that children start to infer what others are saying by the age of 4. This does not mean that all children start inferring at age 4, this could only be an average of the children involved in the research. Therefore, if this information is viewed sceptically, we might be able to notice that some children could infer at a much earlier or a later age. If the fact is followed blindly/not sceptical, children who do not infer at age 4 will be known as “weird’ or perhaps ‘problematic’, which in reality is not the case.

Second example is from a medical point of view. It is scientifically proven that by ‘zapping’ the brain with an electrical tool can improve memory especially in old adults or people with cognitive deficits. Although this method is widely published and many research has provided evidence that the tool works well, this tool is yet to be officially approved by FDA. This is because researchers remain sceptical about its usage and more research is done. As a result, contradictory findings are reported as zapping the brain may not benefit everyone and perhaps, have side effects. If researchers are not skeptical, we will not know the ‘bad’ sides of brain zapping. Therefore, scientific theories may change with time and one should remain skeptical.

However, it is not necessary that these ‘facts’ may well be proven false in the future. These ‘facts’ may sometimes be wrong when apply to some people due to vast differences among people. For example, scientific theories say that drinking lemon everyday has lots of benefits, improve digestion, burn fats and improve skin complexion. Although these are known as ‘facts’ but it might not benefit everyone equally. One with high acidic level in the stomach should avoid acidic food/drinks. If he or she is not sceptical, and follow the scientific theory blindly, he or she may be in trouble. Hence, this example shows that the ‘fact’ is not necessarily false, but people should be sceptical and decide whether the fact is applicable.

In conclusion, scientific theories which most people consider as ‘fact’ should be look upon with scepticism but this does not mean that these facts may well be proven false in the future. It just means that we need to adopt and adapt these facts intelligently. Therefore, this whole statement might not hold true.