Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The alacrity to work depends on the area of interest, work culture and employee compensation.

The productivity at a work place can be kept high if the employees work hard. So, this hard work

should be rewarded as well. The employees should be promoted and compensated from time to

time depending on their work performance and merit which will help these employee continue

their hard work and in turn will yield high productivity.

Let us take the example of one of the largest companies in the world, Google. Google provides its

employees with all the amenities and perks they may need in an office environment. The Google

office is regarded as the best place to work. But it is the best not only because of its flamboyant

office or free food, but because the employees are compensated well enough to increase

productivity. The great minds are promoted to senior positions if they prove themselves and thus

there are many young employees who head a department with people, some of whom are double

their age.

Thus, seniority should be on the basis of the the employee's talent and performance and not on the

basis of years of experience with high compensation.