Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

"The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance"-Socrates. The prompt contends two contrasting views, one is about corporations' duty towards the society and environment, whereas the opts for the self-interest of a corporation that only prioratize profits. I mostly agree with the former opinion, although I concede that in some instances, it is necessary to evaluate one's own interest.

To begin with, corporation has to operate in a specific region and environment. Though, expansion of a certain corporation may lead to globalization of that corporation to other countries. Still, in every country or nation, the corporations have to be cognizant about their surroundings. It is a must for a corporation to have a mindset or goal to achieve a bigger impact, not invest everything to their profit gain. Profit does play a huge role in any corporation, without profit most of the corporations may ceased to exist, but it is not moral to diminish surroundings because of profit margin. For example, a cement factory is set up in the vicinity of a river. The pollutants from the factor may lead to a detrimental effect on the wild life diversity of the river. Not only to the wild life, this may also lead to a bigger problem, pollution from river may cause health issues to people that uses the river's water. Therefore, before setting up a cement factory, it is a must for the corporation, to study the wild life diversity and research on how to offset the pollutants that will be caused by the factory. Another example may be the big oil companies around the globe. Though, we have enough study about the global impact of using fossil fuels, still, we are heavily inclined towards it. It is not impossible to replace it by the greener energy like electric cars. Hence, corporations do have a obligation to help the society and environment.

Secondly, If corporations rely heavily on their profit only. There may be condemnation towards the corporations from the people which may lead to a bad effect on the corporation. For example, in the south-east Asia, there is surgency of garment factories. Over the past couple of decades, there had been numerous garment factories built in this particular part of the globe. The clothing giants like Gap,H&M,Target, and many more use these garments to make their products. Why are these garment factories popular in the Western big clothing lines. Mainly, because of these are made by cheap labor force which results in a bigger profit for the clothing corporations. The working people in these garments, do not get a minimum wage, health insurance or any subsidies. As a result, recently this practice of duplicity of the big corporations and the owners of the garment factories came to light. Most of the factories and big clothing lines are facing lawsuits from human rights activists and NGOs. Therefore, corporations has to balance their profit and not doing any harm to the society.

However, profit is necessary for a corporation to maintain its sustainaty. But, this profit has to balance out with the primary factors such as the well being of the soceity and the environment.

In conclusion, the corporations has obligation towards the soceity and enviroment where they operate, this duty can not be marginalized. This act of duty goes hand in hand with its goal of profit.