Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Classical economics such as the Invisible Hand concept coined by Adam Smith states that an economy works most optimally when every participant acts in a self-interested manner. In recent decades, corporations have by and large embedded themselves as a prominent participant in most developed and many developing countries. The increased role of corporations as an entity that provides employment, affects regulation, and drives the economy has catapulted the corporation in the limelight with respect to social, environmental, and political issues. The Invisible Hand theory would have you believe that - just like all other actors in an economy - the corporation's role is to act in their own self interest and should not care about any other consequences besides the laws of a society. This is the "shareholder" model, where corporations are seen to be accountable only to their immediate owners or shareholders, who wish to profit from the corporation's ventures. A more contemporary theory, the "stakeholder" model, states that while the corporation's primary goal is to maximize profit for its shareholders, they are also responsible for the well-being of its stakeholders, and that taking this more holistic approach to define the responsibilities of a corporation will ultimately maximize the economic and social value of a corporation. The latter stakeholder model is the one I agree with.

In many cases, individual self-interest can undoubtedly lead to optimal decision making. For example, when a street vendor bargains with a customer in order to reach the optimal prize, the street vendor wishes to sell its product for a higher prize while the customer wishes for the opposite, and the bargaining process eventually brings the prize to an equilibrium that both parties can agree on. In this case, the bargaining process has made the price of the product more efficient, in that the price maximizes the satisfaction of both parties. However, in the case where there is unequal bargaining power between two parties, for example between a corporation and its employees, I would argue that the dominant party has a responsibility to uphold the fairness of the process when regulation is lacking. Rather than exploiting the absence of minimum wage and workplace safety rules in various developing countries, a multinational manufacturing firm should exercise its financial power to pioneer these standards in places they wish to expand its factories into. While proponents of the Invisible Hand theory would state that corporations should act in their self-interest in this case, and the issues of a living wage and safe working conditions is a problem for the government, this argument simply does not hold true in the real world. Not only do corporations hold an immense amount of power over its employees, they can also have a large amount of sway in governments who wish to win over manufacturing contracts and provide jobs to its citizens. In this case, a corporation who acts on only a profit motive will be tempted to use its negotiating power to influence regulation, pushing for lower taxes, lower wages, lower environmental standards, and a lax workplace safety code of conduct. All of this results in increased profits for the corporation, but at the detriment of the government who receives less taxes, employees who receive less wages and a more dangerous workplace, as well as any negative environmental impacts that often follow industrial production.

A corporation is an entity devoted to a particular line of business, or oftentimes even many lines of businesses. In its pursuit for profit, a corporation can create immense wealth for itself as well as the society it operates in through creation of new products and employment. However, due to the large amount of bargaining power that a multinational corporation can hold, they have an additional responsibility to ensure that their business is also in line with proper social, environmental, and political standards. As someone once told Batman, with great power comes great responsibility.