Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of the corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

"Corporations have a responsiblity to promote the well being of the societies and enviroment" this view of the issue closely align with my own point of view. Not only Corporations, it is the moral duty of every individual to care for environments and society, to check if their actions, directly or indirectly hamper the harmony or equilibrium of the society or enivronments. Corporations are central to the growth of city, growth of nation but at the same time, the recent news about corruption by corporations in environmental issues, for example VolksWagen, a premier german automobile company, was recently charged with its new range of automobile not maintaing the pollution standards, somewhat provides us a signal that we need to have even more srtingent laws to take care about the corruption by the firms, at the same we as human being need more aware towards betterment of environment and the society.

A founder of the corporation obviously builds his firms to earn money, which is not wrong, but at the same time monetary benefits should not be its sole objective , for example consider a Chemical Fertilizer Company X, a leader in chemical fertilizers, has it plant near a city, which have around lakh inhabitants with varing income groups. Let us say that the company X is located in vicinity of the residential complex and the waste from the company is dumbed near the river side which happen to be source of water for the day today use of the inhabitants. Obviously the permission to set up a chemical fertilizer company was given by the City Muncipal Council also the company is found to follow the all the laws under Environment Protection Act and the waste dumped by the company is near the river lie with in the limits of standards sanctioned by Environmental Protection Agency. Obviously the company is not under any fault, but it is also a responsibilty of the company to be careful when dumping the waste near riverside, even if waste it dumps near the riverside are within the limits, they should be careful in doing so because the water of river is used for day to day work by the city inahbitants. The company should make an effort to install additonal water purifiers or some technology which purifies the river water before reaching to the inhabitants.At the sametime the government should motivate the company by giving subsidies on certain taxes, also providing some financial support to the company in developing the purification plant.

In this way the Corporations should promote well-being of the society and enviroment in which they operate.