Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

Throughout the world, arts have never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although many people believe that the government should provide finance for the arts to guarantee they can burgeon and availability to all people, the issue as to whether it could make threats against the wholeness of the arts or not remains controversial. In my opinion, the government should not fund the arts because the disadvantages of this action far outweigh the advantages.

First, authorities should prioritize urgent social issues such as education, public health or infrastructure over the arts. Although art is a type of amusement but people could not enjoy it while they are living in poverty or experiencing severe health problems. Additionally, creating art is a process that might demand a loud investment such as ceiling painting in churches or sculpture using rare materials. Therefore, this is likely to result to budget deficiency especially to countries which are in tight budget.

Second, the principle of the arts is expressing opinions and ideas of the artists. Through their creations, people could understand their points of view about many aspects of life such as nature, culture, society and politics. If the government funds the arts, they could be likely to interfere and influence creators and their works. Therefore, the artwork would be biased in favor of the government. Suppose, for example, in World War II, Reich Minister of Propaganda of Germany Nazi Joseph Goebbels used many forms of arts like music or film to propagate Nazi ideology. As a result, it might negatively affect the integrity of the arts since they are used to reflecting worldview of artists independently from political influences.

Finally, government funding of the arts could lead to conflict of interest because the government might want to make benefit from the arts. Consequently, to serve financial purpose, many creators tend to produce works which is felicitous the requirement of customers. For instance, the film industry has witnessed a dramatic increase of many movies which are sequel or prequel of a previous movie, whereas there are only a few numbers of original films. This might cause a lack of creativity since art makers are put profit on top of the list. Therefore, art would become monotonous because the diversity of art genres is narrowed down.

In conclusion, taking all the above mentioned reasons, it is plausible that government should not support finance for the arts. This action not only affects government budget but also have a negative effect on the integrity of the arts.