Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Some may say a rigorous and demanding teacher is more effective than a empathetic and understanding one. I mostly agree with the position that the most important qualities of a teacher are understanding and empathy as it facilitates a bond of trust. A rigorous and demanding teacher, for the most part, impedes a supportive learning environment.

Firstly, a teacher can establish a bond of trust with the student by being understanding and empathetic. This, in turn, leads to a more effective teaching environment. If the student is having a hard time on a certain concept, then the student is comfortable enough to go and ask the teacher for help. In this way, the student is taking charge of his or her own academics and striving to do well. Additionally, during times of stress, the student can confide in the teacher of their struggles. Consequently, it keeps the teacher knowledgeable of the student’s mental health, who can then can cater to the student to make sure they are doing well. When teachers are understanding and empathetic, students are more willing to share feedback of the class as well. Suppose if most of the students are kinesthetic learners rather than visual learners. They can express their concerns about the way the class is being run and in turn the teacher can formulate the curriculum to effectively deliver the knowledge. These examples show that an understanding and empathetic teacher is conducive to effectiveness.

Alternatively, teachers who are rigorous and demanding in their expectations can hinder a student’s learning. As they are not understanding, students are less likely to talk to the teacher about concerns they may have about their personal or school life. In turn, there is not a collaborative environment in which a student can properly excel. Along the same line, such teaching style ignores the student’s individuality and capabilities. Students who have learning disabilities can not perform to the same standards as other kids their age. Demanding the most out of students will discourage those who cannot meet those expectations.

However in some cases, being a rigorous and demanding teacher can being out the best in a student. Take, for example, a student who is doing very well in class without trying. A rigorous and demanding teacher may provide that student elaborate assignments or suggest that the student take a harder course to make sure his or her capabilities are being used to the full extent. Such a teacher inspires the student to delve deeper into their strengths and reveal more about themselves than in a supportive environment.

All in all, I mostly agree with the position that an effective teacher is understanding and empathetic. Compared to a demanding and rigorous teacher, understanding and empathy fosters a bond of trust between teacher and student. In some cases nonetheless, a demanding and rigorous teacher can tease out a student’s potential.