Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Efficiency is a vital factor to evaluate the capability of political leadership. What are the criteria for the evaluation of whether a leader is effective or not? While some people assert that political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of comprise, others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. Both of the above claims may appear plausible at first glance, however, I would like to say that an effective leader should act from both sides since each of them are not mutually exclusive.

To begin with, what does efficiency define when it refers to look into a political leader's behavior? As the highest management in the political area, the effective leader is competent to bring peace and stability to the society that he or she serves, to make the people wealth and safe, and to boom the economy and culture in his or her area by a limited resource utilization within a

short period. When a leader plan to implement his or her actions, there should be different opinions coming from either public or internal organizations. For example, when Theodore Roosevelt announced the "A Big Deal" which stimulated the economy of the United State from World War II, the abound adversaries and oppositions from the different classes sprouted out. If Roosevelt yielded to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise, the economy of America will to the most extent still in the depression. It demonstrated the idea of the most essential quality of an effective leader needs to have the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

On the contrary, if an effective political leader insists opinions of his or her own every time and never adopts the suggestions and pieces of advice from the public, he or she is an arbitrary and dogmatic leader who is harmful and hazardous to society and the organization he or she serves. A wise political leader knows the strategy of dealing with the opposite opinions and is willing to yield to public voice when it is necessary to abandon principle for the sake of compromise.

That being said, to find the balance of these two appeared opposite claims is a method to lead success for an effective leader. Sometimes, the public is blind to important issues due to insufficient information, therefore the political leader should persist his commitment to dedicated policy and target without any compromise. Let us have a look at the following representative example. When the nation encounters the danger from terrorism, the effective leader has to make a decision to defend his nation and his people without hearing from the public opinion. In other cases, before the new road expansion plan implements, a certain survey is a much smart choice to hear from public opinion. A decision should be made upon the feedback from the survey by an effective leader with yielding to public opinion if the demerit of the road expansion plan outweighs the merit of it.

In conclusion, the above-examination of the two views disclosed my appreciation for both of them. Nevertheless, this is not to say that I suggest appraising these two perspectives in isolation. Rather, I would like to view the process of decision-making of government officials as a continuum that includes public voices and officials' individual decisions.