Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The idea of not being flexible in decision making as a political leader sounds unreasonable since based on different political, economic, social circumstances, one should change his way.

As world change permanently, it is crucial for a man of politics to change his way of thinking according to the time and condition of his community. The good example is Iran whose political leaders have/had insisted on not negotiating with the USA about nuclear energy leading to many sanctions from the USA and Europe countries which put Iran in a dire economic circumstance. Eventually, after almost 40 years, those negotiations not only helps Iran’s economics but also improves the image of Iran throughout the world. All people around the world find out that the government of Iran is looking for peace and also use nuclear energy for useful use not for making nuclear bombs. As you see, having yielding strategies cause good effects.

On the other hand, some disciplines might become obsolete over the time and a leader should be capable of modifying them based on the needs of society. The example of individuals who are homosexual and want to get married is a convincing one. There are still many countries with strict regulation in which being homosexual or getting married is invalidating laws and has huge consequences. Therefore, those people are obliged to migrate to another country or have a hidden life in their/his own country. Why should a government make people lives harder than easier?

It worths to says that in some cases having immutable rules is necessary for making long-term decisions and plans. Consider a country whose laws about import or export are constantly changing over the time. In this circumstance, businesses have to change day by day leading to do their jobs inefficient or maybe with a huge cost that was not considered before. Therefore, these businesses would not be profitable and ought to end their working leading to a huge economic detriment. So, a stable situation is always a critical factor for boosting a company.

To sum up, not only do decisive and unchangeable strategies may hurt the economic and political conditions of a country, lacking stable laws and conditions also may cause lots of problems. It is better that leaders pay attention to the need of the society and make decisions which are best and effective according to the current time.