Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

The world has witnessed an unprecedented technological advancement in the past few decades. This has influenced every aspect of our life including the way we communicate and interact with each other. While addiction to technology can reduce opportunities for human interactions, a judicious use of modern technological means does serve to provide new and better ways to communicate and connect with people worldwide.

Certainly, technology has given new dimensions and scale to communication. No one can deny how the invention of telephone gave opportunity of faster communication to many who, otherwise, were required to wait for days to receive their postal letters. Fast forward to the twentieth century, the advent of internet and allied online platforms have completely revolutionized the ways, speed, affordability and convenience of human communication providing interaction opportunities and avenues to more people than ever. The 2019 report by ‘Facebook’ revealing that almost 2.2 billion people round the globe use its family of applications to communicate and connect with each other is enough to illustrate the augmentation of human interaction. ‘WhatsApp’ and ‘Facebook’ allows multitude to stay connected every single minute, albeit virtually. While LinkedIN provides opportunities of global networking for many who haven’t even travelled outside their country, their recruitments from far-flung areas into NMCs through ‘Skype’ interviews is now a norm.

The rewards of technology expand well beyond personal communication to education also. Virtual classrooms and online courses have given access to underprivileged students from across the globe to avail from stalwarts in academia defying geographical boundaries. While Khan Academy is enlightening school students from Africa, a large chunk of Asian students can benefit from the MIT open course ware.

Apart from virtual communication, technology has increased the inter-personal interaction as well. Advancement in modes of transport has increased global mobility and connections. More and more people are now travelling frequently to explore nations, experience diverse culture and interact with all citizens of the world. Technology further increases the chances of human interaction by providing leisure. For example, previously, assignments meant days of perusal in local libraries and knowledge resource centres for students. However, now all the articles, journals and books can be browsed in a Kindle. The time saved can be utilized by students to engage in social activities thereby allowing more human interaction.

However, addiction of technology, as for any other thing, might reverse its benefits. Adolescents with an obsession of online games like PUBG can hardly recognize people around, let alone interact. Such teenagers would seriously lack in social skills affecting their chances of human interaction for life. Moreover, technology addicts can even spoil the opportunities of personal social connections provided by traditional platforms. Whether it is a sight of a couple glued to their screens in a restaurant or of family members engrossed in their devices in the drawing room, all corroborate this fact. Yet, it is up to the users as to whether they employ technology to enhance or diminish their opportunities of social interactions. For instance, an office colleague has the choice to either walk to a mate’s cubicle to or prefer to send an email to share personal news or a dinner invite.

In conclusion, while addiction and misuse of technology can certainly diminish the opportunities for human interactions, overall technological advancements have paved way to provide novel ways of communication and connections to almost every individual on the planet. Online social networking sites, virtual classrooms, better modes of transport, more leisure, etc., all derivable benefits of technological innovations serve to enhance human interaction.