Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Many people believe that scientific findings have given us much deeper understanding of the world around us. Although it is difficult to disagree with this statement, as far as I am concerned, the scientific progress not only deepens our knowledge about the world but also make it more complex and intricate as well.

To begin with, the today's scientific achievements are obvious, our understanding of the world has dramatically skyrocketed and many issues, which used to perplex the humankind from relatively primitive ones such as why grass is green to more fundamental and complex issues such as how human's eye has evolved, have been answered. In fact, it seems that today we know about the world around us more than ever before. However, may we assert that we have much better understanding of the universe and its laws? May we be sure that our understanding is correct?

Perhaps, there is not simple answer on those questions because some of today's scientific theories and concepts which today are used to explain the nature will be inevitably claimed inaccurate in the future; for example, Einstein's theory of relativity was a breakthrough at the beginning of the XX century, this theory promised to explain the laws of the universe and it was even used to create a nuclear bomb. However, today this theory has been limited in its usage and new theories which explain the cosmic process more precisely have been published. Perhaps for our progeny our today's concepts will be as ridiculous as for us the theories of the middle ages when people believed that surface of planet is flat and the sun orbit Earth. In other words, we cannot be sure that today's understanding is much better that used to be.

Furthermore, even if we accept for granted that our understanding is more profound than one of our predecessor, we will still have an issue. It seems that each new discovery gives birth to new more difficult and obscure questions. Each finding demonstrates us that the universe is much more complex than we ever realized. For example, two hundred years ago no one knew about molecules and atoms, than powerful microscopes were developed and we managed to look inside cells and we found them. For many years, it was widely believed that atoms are the smallest bricks of the universe but then we have found that atom consists of electrons, protons and other elementary particles; moreover, modern scholars actively try to find even smaller particles from which those elements were created. This is an endless search for knowledge which demonstrates us that the world is infinitely complex.

In conclusion, it is widely accepted that today we have much better understanding of the world than our ancestors; moreover, it is believed that with each new discovery our understanding increase; however, I think that each new scientific finding rather demonstrates us the infinity of the world's complexity than makes the picture clearer because each discovery gives birth to new riddles which are even more complex than previous ones.