Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Writer presnts a discrepancy in attitude of people about the scientific discoveries in the present world. He/she contends that some people believe that the scientific discoveries have made better understanding of the world around us while rest of the people believe that such discoveries has made the understanding more complicated. I partially agree with what the author aserts about the attitude of people towards scientific discoveries. Because every discovery possess both positive as well as negative facet: the factor that makes such discoveries appealing to the people is the greater degree of its positive aspects as compared to that of its negative one.

While justifying the first attitude that the discoveries have given better understanding of the world around us, let us take an example of teliscope. Before the discpvery of teliscope, people were having false concept about the moon having its own light but, after the discovery of teliscope they could have a closer and more precise knowledge about it. Even after the discovery of rocket and satellite, the complexity about the space and the moon is substantialy reduced. People can travel form one place to another using cars, trains, airplanes etc. to know the world behind thier town and cities. This has helped people to understand the rest of the world more better than they could without such scientific discoveries.

As I have already stated that all discoveries have two opposite aspects, scientific discoveries too share some negativity. After every scientific discovery, people get to know something new that they had never know bwfore. This novice experience instigates a kind of greed among the people to know further more about the world around them. For an instance, when a simple microscope was discovered, people got to know that the human body is made up of several tiny structures called as cells. This new information induced a greed to know if these tiny cells further consist of more smaller particles. This made the understanding of human anatomy more intricated.

In a nutshell, scientific discoveries are made to simplify the live of people and help the better understand the world around them. It is the greed of people to dig more about their life and surrounding, that has made the world more complex.