Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Scientists are now mutating mosquitoes’ DNA to balk the destruction of birds on Hawaiin islands caused by avian malaria; the U.S government spends millions of dollars every year to protect endangered species such as the rhinoceros, and the wild tigers; a plethora of organizations around the world are set up for the conservation of the jeopardised flora and the fauna. Clearly, an abundance of money and time is involved in the preservation of plant and animal species—especially the endangered ones. The question arises : Is this investment worth it? Is it justified?

First of all, there are numerous medical benefits that plants and animals offer : Rosy Periwinkle, a plant endemic to Madagascar, and which is now on the verge of extinction, possess anti-cancer substances; leeches are now employed in surgery for their anti-coagulant properties; the pharmaceutical industry makes thousands of medicines from plants. Imagine the useful plants, that are endangered, become extinct. There would be disease and death of the human race.

Secondly, out of the 80,000 species of plants, only 20 contribute to the 90% of the world’s food. Conserving and using the plants that are not utilized can feed the increasing population.

Moreover, if one plant/animal becomes extinct, it can disturb the network of the flora and the fauna called as biosphere which consists of various ecosystems. Ecosystems purify the air, detoxify and decompose wastes, they help in regeneration of soil fertility. These are of importance to agricultural, and pharmaceutical companies —worth trillions of dollars annually.

Wildlife watching and recreation at the parks and zoos generate billion of dollars in economic benefits to the nation. The returns are hundred times more than the investment. And who has given us the right to destroy plants and animals? Every creature has an intrinsic value and has its place on this planet. Elephants and rhinos, for instance, are killed by poachers for their ivory and horns respectively. Exterminating plant and animal species not only reduces our benefits but it’s morally wrong.

All in all, if we want to treat people suffering from diseases like Leukaemia, Parkinson’s, if we want the agricultural and industrial enterprises to keep generating money, or if we want this world to be a better place to live, there is one thing we should all do : save the endangered species. We need the Rosy Periwinkle, the rhinoceros, the vipers : Economy-wise, recreation-wise and medicinal value wise.