Some people believe that strong relationships can only develop after conflict and resolution have enabled the partners to speak openly and trust deeply. Others believe that each conflict creates rifts in a relationship that can never be repaired, weakening its foundation.

Write a response in which you determine which view bears the closest resemblance to your own. In justifying your reasoning and supporting your position, be sure to include your reaction to both of the views presented.

Conflict is an integral part of any fruitful relationship. It is important to note that every individual on the planet hails from a different belief and value system. Every individual develops their own opinions on life through their varied life experiences. Thus, conflict between individuals is an inevitable reality of life.

Conflict provides a platform to strike common ground between contrasting schools of thought. From personal experience in working with teams, I can contend that the best ideas stem from conflict among partners in a team. Conflict enables bringing together diverse wisdom and opinions to build foolproof solutions to problems. That is the foundation upon which the concept of a "team" is built.

In a more personal context, conflict enables individuals to develop a stronger understanding of their partner's character, likes and dislikes. It is important to posses a strong understanding of your partner in any relationship. It enables you to behave in a manner that is mutually rewarding. Conflict helps develop this understanding.

Further, conflict helps build trust. Trust is a key component in every relationship. Being honest about differences with your partner brings in transparency in the relationship thus, strengthening trust between you and your partner.

Given all the above arguments, it is also important to learn from conflict. Conflict must be seen as a means for both personal and mutual progress in every relationship. In every conflict, you learn something about your partner. It is important to take away this lesson and act upon this new learning to avoid conflict on the same issue in the future. It is in those cases where lessons aren't learnt from conflict, that an irreparable rift is created in relationships.