Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Any person without the capability of logical reasoning can be very rightly termed as an "illiterate". Some may say that the above statement is quite debatable as literacy is defined as the ability to read, write and understand correctly in any one particular language. But if a person is not able to logically deduce the relationship between say, the cause and the effect or the premise and the conclusion, he may not be truly a literate because he/she may not able to comprehend or understand in a comprehensive manner, as he has just crammed certain areas which would on paper classify him/her as literate, doesn't make him/her an absolute knowledgeable person.

Propagandists of the belief that teaching morality should be the foundation of education fail to realize that if the students are not able to understand why the morals are important for living a valuable life, or how these morals can have an impact on oneself and also on the people around us, then teaching the students is equivalent to making the talking parrot rote some sentences. As the parrot knows what he is supposed to speak and is incapable of making subtle differences or important decisions which the human brain is adaptive to make, we are nurturing puppets not students who are our future generation. We are not teaching them to the correct values in the correct way.

On the contrary, a foundation of logical reasoning would shape the young minds in the correct direction as they would feel more responsible in their own decision making process. One may ask why I feel so. It is quite certain that if we teach kids at a very young age the minute differences between good and bad, correct and wrong, truth and false based on logical reasoning they are bound to remember these values for life, they need not rote it to remember the moral values. Learning or cramming those values won't take them long. And when the kids are making their own decisions, and we can quite be sure, they would be logically reasoning it out before doing so, they are more bound to make the right decisions in life as they are taught the right values at an impressionable age.

A moral society produced from the teaching whose foundation is based on logical reasoning, doesn't bind the society on some pre-written rules or principles of the society or the oral tales passed down through generations. It in fact, liberates them from orthodoxy that is not valid in the modern times and helps them to make logical amendments that would be helpful to the society as a whole. If the foundation of teaching was based on morals, the younger generation would never dare to make changes as they would be in a constant fear that going against the set rules and principles would have fatal repercussions. But, when these morals are developed based on logic, they can certainly understand and inculcate the fine border that exists between good and evil, and how they can help themselves and the society when they cross the fine line. By inculcating morals through logical reasoning, we do not only protect the youth but also make them competent enough to face all the hard challenges of life.