Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view  more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

While teaching morality can produce a just society, sometimes teaching logical reasoning can provide a more substantial background to ensure an ethical world. Therefore, both approaches should be used by teachers in schools.

On the one hand, teaching morality can produce an ethical population of students. By creating a moral framework for children to make decisions early on in their development, children can choose what is ethical in school and continue using the moral framework for the rest of their lives. For example, if you teach a student to care for another person because the student would want to be treated that way, then the student can apply this lesson to other parts of his life. The student will be less likely to steal from another person because he or she would like to be treated the same way and consequently produce a more just world.

On the other hand, teaching logical reasoning can also create a moral society. For example, a teacher can show a student how if he or she steals from the other students and they find out then the outcome will be worse off for the student than before. Therefore, logically a student should not take the risk of stealing and, in turn, will create a more ethical environment.

There are times, however, when one method can be more appropriate than the other. For example, logically it will be easier to see the benefit of doing well on a test. A teacher can explain that if the student studies, he or she will get a good grade and as a result get into a better college. However, morally the argument does not make sense. The opposite also can hold to be true. For example, a student can be taught the ethical dilemma of stealing from another student but will be less likely to understand the logical argument because logically they will have more than before if the student steals.

In conclusion, both methods are appropriate for certain situations. Teaching morality can produce a just society if it can be clearly taught to a student. Also, teaching the foundation of logical reasoning can create an ethical world if the lesson is taught with germane examples. In both of these cases the student will be able to apply the lessons later in life based on the moral or logical framework.