Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Undoubtedly, ideals had a major impact in our society and have contributed to its development in the way we know it today. However, especially in democratic societies that more than one political parties make decisions, ideals of all these parties need to be in agreement, so that political decisions are instituted. The pursuit of an ideal should be the driving force, but if consensus is not a priority, then ideals are not likely to be implemented.

Ideals give passion and motivation for seeking change. Such ideals led to the establishment of human rights and the participation of minorities in elections, which gave them voice in contemporary society. For example, women were disenfranchised until the 20th century and achieved to gain their political rights because of the ideals of enlightened leaders who believed in equality of the sexes and fought to bring this philosophical sense of equality into flesh. The same holds for other minorities, such African Americans in the United States. It was leaders with vision, such as Martin Luther King who did not quit in the face of opposition, but remain devoted in their ideals. Committed to these ideals they were able to incur reformation of the society and overturn inequity.

However, nowadays that in most western societies democratic values have strongly influence governmental establishments no change can be achieved without finding common grounds and agreeing on a specific decision for political change. Greece is the epitome of a country were agreement can rarely be achieved which significantly impact direction to a potential change. When leftish parties are in power they try establish laws related to social equality, whereas when parties with values directed to the right are oriented to financial changes. The intractable efforts to institute laws imbued with their awn ideals and not trying to find a point of consensus ahs made progress impossible. Therefore, pursuit of ideals without finding points with which all parties agree detracts from any steps forward.

Additionally, a consensus is important for the smooth function of a society. In other words, fiery support of ones ideals can lead to unrest among the different members in the society. In Greece, for instance, people with opposing ideals are passionate about those in such a way that detracts from any possibility for a healthy dialogue between people holding different views. Fanaticism is more the rule rather than the exception and, thus, enmities prevail. This is counterproductive for the establishment of any ideal. None is willing to hear opposing views and narrowmindedness make compromise impossible.

In conclusion, although ideal are indispensable for change in the society in every direction, when no party is eager to compromise and listen to opposing views to find common ground, change cannot be established.