Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Politics is an integral part of communities and societies. It has a process through which various opinions and policies can be accommodated and harmonized. Given this point, it is reasonable to state that the objective of politics is finding a logical consensus between different members. However, one of the other important roles of politics is also pursuing specific ideals that many people strive to realize. That is why there are a myriad of ideological positions in political scenes. While I think both of the aforementioned roles are truly significant and they can be compatible, I still consider the former as a more essential part of politics.

To be sure, the pursuit of ideals through politics is natural and desirable. That is an important reason why a plethora of parties compete with each other. It is not simple to enumerate all those sorts of different ideological stances, such as liberalism, communism, capitalism, conservatism, and then some. Such various ideological positions provide political decisions with logical bases. Without such evident and detailed ideological imperatives, any government or community would be faced with the dangers of excessive populism and even total anarchy. As Plato indicated, if politicians are preoccupied with winning votes or supports only, there would be a chaotic situation where any important decision cannot be wisely made. This circumstance has been unfolding in several countries including Argentina in the middle twentieth century when political leaders did not give detailed perspectives for the future but myopic free incentives.

Therefore, it seems to be reasonable to mention that finding common ground is also important to make a balance between diverse political arguments. This process is not incompatible with the pursuit of ideals. Instead, this procedure actually results in balanced and reasonable agreements in most cases by accommodating and respecting a variety of ideologies. These sorts of agreements are likely to lead to a stable condition of national security in welfare. There are a lot of examples related to this point, and I can present one newly democratized state named Tunisia. Although there have been serious political crises between different parties and political groups in Tunisia, they have succeeded in entrenching democracy and relatively stable social conditions compared to neighboring countries thanks to its room for compromising different political opinions. While both secularists and Islamists have tried to realize their ideals through politics, they have agreed to concede some of their goals to more comprehensive policies for finding common grounds between them. For instance, the Islamists gave up to add the phrase ‘Tunisia is a country based on Islam’ in the constitution. Meanwhile, the secularists have agreed to the legalization of various Islamist groups. As aforementioned, such agreements have made Tunisia more secure than nearby states.

Furthermore, it should also be noted that no ideology is impeccable. Thus, it is better for ideologies to compete with each other so that they can fix some faults and contribute to better conditions for all people. If the procedure of harmonization and sound competition is omitted, the result would be devastating as history has demonstrated. For example, when communist countries banned all other ideological positions except communism, they did not get communist ideals. In contrast, in each state, this sort of communism evolved into destructive ideology, such as red fascism in the Soviet Union and a cult for Kim Il-sung in North Korea. Given this situation, the pursuit of an ideal should be controlled to some degree by finding common grounds.

In conclusion, I can say that both statements presented in the question have valid points. However, it is needed to give more importance to finding reasonable consensus because this procedure is vital to make desirable political decisions. In addition, the pursuit of a single ideal can be inimical to society, and therefore there should be a tool to control this, the process of reaching common grounds.